Five Fremont County players selected to be in Wyoming-Montana annual basketball series

Apr 17, 2013 By Bruce Tippets, Sports Editor

Seth Quayle, Xavier Webb and Kade Salisbury of Riverton High School have been selected to play for the Wyoming basketball all-stars against Montana's all-star team in the annual summer series between the neighboring states.

Lander's Lucas Watkins will be joining the three Riverton Wolverines on the hardwood.

The boys roster was selected by Sheridan College men's basketball coach Steve Smiley.

The games are Friday, June 7, at Sheridan College and Saturday, June 8, in Billings, Mont.

The trio helped RHS place in the runner-up position last month at the Class 4-A state tournament in Casper.

Quayle recently was named the Fremont County boys player of the year.

"It's definitely unique to have three players from the same team, but after reviewing all of the recommendations from across the state, it was pretty clear all three were worthy of the invite," Smiley said.

"All three have multiple attributes that can help our team," Smiley said. "Xavier's shooting, Kade's size as a point guard, and Seth's toughness and rebounding ability will all help out."

Webb averaged 16.7 points per game. Quayle scored 11.5 points per game and grabbed 9.4 rebounds on the season. Salisbury dished out 5.4 assists and scored 8.6 points per game. Watkins was an all-state Class 3-A selection for the Tigers. The 6-7 center produced 8.2 rebounds and scored 12.4 points per game.

"Watkins has a legitimate post presence with his size, and he is another guy that can rebound and be a force in the paint," Smiley said.

The rest of the Wyoming roster includes the Laramie tandem of Tyler Loose and Samuel Hainline, Marshal McArthur (Powell), Logan Wasson (Gillette), Wyatt Shinaver (Star Valley) and Logan Burningham (Ten Sleep).

"I like the team for sure," Smiley said. "We should have good balance throughout the lineup. We should be competitive."


Lander Valley High School all-state player Shanda Post was named to the girls roster to play in the Wyoming-Montana series. Post is the 2013 Fremont County girls player of the year.

Sheridan College Frank McCarthy assembled the team.

McCarthy wanted Post to play for him at Sheridan College, but Post has signed a national letter of intent to play at Casper College.

"I recruited Shanda like crazy," McCarthy said. "I know that she was very impressed with Casper College. I thought Shanda would be a really good player up at Sheridan."

McCarthy is expecting Post to be an outside threat during the Wyoming-Montana series.

"She can stretch the defense so well," McCarthy said. "We are going to play her on the outside rather than the point. I think that will be really good for her. That will take some pressure off her. She can just concentrate on knocking shots down."

Post averaged almost 17 points per game for the Tigers.

"She has a really nice stroke," McCarthy said.

Future Wyoming Cowgirl Hailey Ligocki of Sheridan and her teammate Mail Wright also will be playing for McCarthy.

"I think that we have really good guards," McCarthy said. "We are a not really big. We know that Montana has a tremendous team. It will be a challenge for us."

Kassidy Scott (Douglas), Dana Bjorhus (Thermopolis), Katie Kuhn (Laramie), Elissa Johnson (Cheyenne East) and three Gillette players McCorra Ford, Dani Williams and Sierra Toms round out the Wyoming roster.

Wyoming boys roster

for Montana series

Marshall McArthur, Powell; Tyler Loose, Laramie; Samuel Hainline, Laramie; Logan Wasson, Gillette; Logan Burningham, Ten Sleep; Kade Salisbury, Riverton; Seth Quayle, Riverton; Xavier Webb, Riverton; Lucas Watkins, Lander.


Shanda Post, Lander; Kassidy Scott, Douglas; Dana Bjorhus, Thermopolis; Hailey Ligocki, Sheridan; Mali Wright, Sheridan; Katie Kuhn, Laramie; Elissia Johnson, Cheyenne East;

McCorra Ford, Gillette; Dani Williams, Gillette; Sierra Toms, Gillette.

Print Story
Read The Ranger...