Dear Readers,
Beginning Wed., Oct. 25, The Ranger will reinstate our subscription program for our digital-only customers. (The online Ranger will continue to be provided free as an added service to all Ranger print subscribers). We hope you will continue to enjoy Fremont County's best journalism in print and also online, all day, every day!

Encana announces academic scholarships

Feb 3, 2013 From staff reports

Encana Oil & Gas (USA) Inc. has announced its scholarships for 2012-13 high school seniors. One $10,000 scholarship ($2,500 per year for up to four years) will be awarded to one graduating senior in each high school where Encana USA operates, including Riverton, Wind River, Shoshoni, Lander Valley, Pathfinder, Wyoming Indian, Araphahoe and St. Stephens.

"Our scholarship program invests in our youth and future workforce by providing the resources and financial commitment to help them become self-sufficient and develop their education," said Joyce Witte, Encana community investment adviser. "Several of our scholarship recipients have gone on to become Encana interns, and even employees. We are proud of their hard work and accomplishments."

The Encana USA scholarship is awarded directly to the student to be used for any college-related financial need, such as tuition and fees, room and board, textbooks and rent. All qualified high school seniors are encouraged to submit an online application. The web address is accessible through the student counselor's office.

Scholarship eligibility requirements:

- Must attend one of the eight high schools listed above

- Declare an energy-related field of study in petroleum, chemical, mechanical or environmental engineering, geology or geophysics

- Attend a four-year university or technical/trade program

- Demonstrate a solid academic record

- Embody community involvement and leadership

- Submit proof of acceptance and registration in a qualifying program

Last year's scholarship recipients from Fremont County were Steven Monroe, St. Stephen's High School; Daniel Varichak, Pathfinder High School; Delbert Wichelhaus, Riverton High School; Thomas Linnan, Shoshoni High School; Jalen Abeyta, Lander Valley High School; and Ryan Heeg, Wind River High School.

The deadline to submit online applications is March 16, and recipient recommendations will be made by individual school districts. Encana USA will conduct student interviews and final selection of award recipients will be in early April.

For more information, check with a school counselor or e-mail

Print Story
Read The Ranger...