1 percent tax advisory panel named; includes former mayor Vincent

Jan 24, 2013 By Alejandra Silva, Staff Writer

Riverton Mayor Ron Warpness appointed has appointed nine new members to the Fix Our Roads Citizen Committee.

Warpness announced the selections Tuesday at the Riverton City Council meeting.

Last month the council adopted the resolution establishing the committee formed to provide recommendations to the mayor and council on the uses of the optional 1 percent sales tax that voters approved in November.

Those interested in serving on the committee were asked to contact the city and 14 residents of Riverton came forward.

With recommendations from council members, the mayor decided on the final members and all three wards will be represented.

Representing the first ward are Art Dykeman and Betty Malicki. For Ward 2, the members are Frank Tanner, Garland Samuelson, Mike McDonald and Wendell Manka. Manka will serve as chairman. Gary Burnette, John Vincent and Kelly Kershisnik will be representing Ward 3.

Vincent is a former Riverton mayor.

City staff reported people from Ward 3 expressed the most interest in serving on the committee.

Print Story
Read The Ranger...