Commissioners fill five county board seats

Dec 26, 2012 By Eric Blom, Staff Writer

Four new faces will serve on the Fremont County Solid Waste Disposal District, the Fair and the Predatory Animal boards.

Fremont County Commissioners filled five vacant county board seats Tuesday: three on the Fremont County Solid Waste Disposal District Board, one on the Fair Board and one on the Predatory Animal Board.

Commissioners appointed Barbara Gardener and Gary Weisz and reappointed Mike Morgan to the solid waste board. Mike McDonald and Nancy Shoop had also applied.

Commissioners voted by ballot, ranking their choices. Commissioners appointed the three applicants who accumulated the most points by a unanimous motion.

Gardner and Weisz will fill Richard Rodgers's and Dave Hines's seats.

"I'm from a very rural area," Gardner of Lysite said after hearing of her appointment. "It would be good to get some input from the rural people as well as from the cities and towns."

Morgan of Dubois said he was excited to represent those near him.

"I look forward to serving folks who are situated up here like I am in the western end of the valley,"R00;he said.

Weisz is from Shoshoni and said he applied so his town would have better representation on the solid waste board.

"In Shoshoni, when you work, it's hard to get (to the transfer station) in day time hours," he added. "That was one of the reasons I wanted to be on the board."

Commissioners similarly voted by ballot to appoint Shawn Carper to the Fair Board. Carper will replace Ernie Phinney whose term is up at the end of 2012.

"We've got a lot of good people in this county," Carper said after he heard of his appointment. "I feel like it's time for me to do what I can for the community."

Wendel Vonkrosigk, Bruce Knell, Rhonda Slack and Keith McPherson also applied.

Commission vice-chairman Pat Hickerson abstained from the Fair Board vote because a family member had applied. Knell is Hickerson's son-in-law.

Commissioner Travis Becker moved to appoint Victor Mosbrucker to the Predatory Animal Board.

"I think all three candidates are very capable," Becker added.

Becker, Hickerson and chairman Doug Thompson voted for Mosbrucker, granting him the appointment. Commissioner Dennis Christensen voted no, and Keja Whiteman did not vote.

Mosbrucker will fill Scott Maller's seat.

"It's just an honor to be on there," Mosbrucker said. "I wanted to get involved in it, and I finally did."

Print Story
Read The Ranger...