Unopposed candidates win votes of confidence

Nov 8, 2012 From staff reports

Though they were running unopposed, many candidates for uncontested races earned votes of confidence from residents at polling places Tuesday.

Two state senators were unchallenged in Fremont County this year: Senate District 20 Republican Gerald Geis and Senate District 26 Republican Eli Bebout. Geis earned 317 votes, and Bebout got 7,457.

Republican Rita Campbell was unopposed in the general election for House District 34 after garnering more votes than Republican challenger Lois Herbst in the August primary. Campbell earned 3,747 votes Tuesday.

In the uncontested race for Fremont County Commission District 2, 3,462 people voted for Republican Larry Allen, who beat incumbent Republican Dennis Christensen in the primary race.


Four incumbents ran for four open seats on the Fremont County School District 25 Board of Trustees. Lynette Jeffres saw the most votes at 4,073, with Glenn Ogg coming in just behind her with 4,030 ballots cast in his favor. Board chair Carl Manning earned 3,839 votes, and Dean Peranteaux got 3,022.

Incumbent Colton Crane of Lander ran unopposed for the Subdistrict 4 spot on the Central Wyoming College Board of Trustees, and 11,486 residents voted for him.


Riverton, Hudson and Pavillion all had uncontested races for council spots Tuesday.

Jonathan Faubion ran against incumbent Diana Mahoney for the Riverton City Council Ward 1 seat, but Mahoney dropped out of the race after the August primary. Faubion earned 888 votes Tuesday.

Hudson residents chose from a pool of two contestants for two open council positions. They gave Mike Anderson 138 votes, while 103 people cast ballots for Sherry Oler.

The situation was similar in Pavillion, where Bud Kisling and Danette Williams ran for two open spots. Kisling got 666 votes while Williams earned 48.

Print Story
Read The Ranger...