Dear Readers,
Beginning Wed., Oct. 25, The Ranger will reinstate our subscription program for our digital-only customers. (The online Ranger will continue to be provided free as an added service to all Ranger print subscribers). We hope you will continue to enjoy Fremont County's best journalism in print and also online, all day, every day!

The way it was: Election night -- 1986

Nov 4, 2012 Staff

Two Fremont County Republican mainstays got good news on election night in 1986.

State Representative Mary Odde of Shoshoni finished second in the 10-candidate race for five available Wyoming House seats (those were the days prior to today's legislative district voting) and was elected to her fourth term. Others elected to the house were Democrats Scott Ratliff and Eli Bebout (he switched parties six years later), and Republicans Harry Tipton and Dennis Tippets.

And Republican Tom Satterfield of Riverton was elected to the first of what would be four terms on the Fremont County Commission. Other commissioners elected were Butch Hudson of Lander, Richard Bennett of Riverton and Ralph Urbigkeit of Crowheart.

Also that night, Democrat Mike Sullivan of Casper won the first of his two terms as governor, and Joyce Jansa of Lander and Albert Brown of Riverton were elected mayor of their respective cities.

Print Story
Read The Ranger...