The Ranger (beta)

Fremont County's Daily Newspaper

News of Riverton, Lander and Fremont County, Wyoming, from the Ranger's award winning journalists.

Ranger Login

Cowgirls announce 2012-13 schedule

Aug 22, 2012 - UW Sports Information

Seven teams that competed in postseason play will be featured on the 2012-13 Wyoming Cowgirl Basketball schedule, announced Tuesday by the Wyoming Athletics Department. Eastern Michigan, Fresno State and San Diego State competed in the NCAA Tournament a year ago, while Bowling Green, Colorado, South Dakota and UNLV were participants in the WNIT.

"The 2012-13 schedule will be a tremendous challenge for a young Wyoming team," said head coach Joe Legerski. "The Mountain will have a new look and once again our fan base will provide an exciting atmosphere in the AA."

The Cowgirls will open the regular season with two straight at home before a three-game road stretch. They will tip things off against the Idaho Vandals on Friday, Nov. 9 followed by a match-up against the Denver Pioneers, on Friday, Nov. 16. A Thanksgiving trip to California for the Pepperdine Tournament, Nov. 23-24, is scheduled with two games over the weekend, before facing the Colorado Buffs, on Wednesday, Nov. 28, in Boulder.

UW will return home to the friendly confines of the Double A as they host Eastern Michigan, on Saturday, Dec. 1. Four of the next five contests will be out on the road. They travel to the state of Montana with games against the Montana Lady Griz, on Thursday, Dec 6, and the Montana State Lady Cats, on Saturday, Dec. 8. A home game against the Weber State Wildcats, on Friday, Dec. 14, will be followed by two final games before the Christmas break. They will take on Bowling Green, on Sunday, Dec. 16, and Ball State, on Tuesday, Dec. 18.

Wyoming will play their final two non-conference opponents on Saturday, Dec. 29 against Loyola Marymount and Thursday, Jan. 3, against South Dakota School of Mines.

Mountain West women's games will be played on Wednesdays and Saturdays. The Cowgirls will begin MW play on the road beginning Wednesday, January 9 against the Boise State Broncos, followed by their first home game on Saturday, January 12 against league newcomer Nevada Wolf Pack.

Head coach Joe Legerski enters his tenth season with the Cowgirl basketball program. He returns five starters and ten letterwinners from a team that went 12-17 overall and 7-7 in the Mountain West.

2012-13 Wyoming Cowgirl Basketball Schedule

Date

Mon., Oct. 29, Dakota Wesleyan (Exhibition) Laramie, Wyo. 7:00 p.m.

Mon., Nov. 5, Regis (Exhibition) Laramie, Wyo. 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 9 Idaho Laramie, Wyo. 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 16 Denver Laramie, Wyo. 5:00 p.m.

Fri.-Sat., Pepperdine Tournament Malibu, Calif. TBA

Nov. 23-24 (South Dakota, Pepperdine, Seton Hall)

Wed., Nov. 28 @Colorado Boulder, Colo. TBA

Sat., Dec. 1, Eastern Michigan Laramie, Wyo. TBA

Thurs., Dec. 6 @Montana Missoula, Mont. TBA

Sat., Dec. 8 @Montana State Bozeman, Mont. TBA

Fri., Dec. 14 Weber State Laramie, Wyo. 7:00 p.m.

Sun., Dec. 16 @Bowling Green Bowling Green, Ohio TBA

Tues., Dec. 18 @Ball State Muncie, Ind. TBA

Sat., Dec. 29 Loyola Marymount Laramie, Wyo. 2:00 p.m.

Thurs., Jan. 3 South Dakota Tech Laramie, Wyo. 7:00 p.m.

Wed., Jan. 9 @Boise State* Boise, Idaho 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 12 Nevada* Laramie, Wyo. 2:00 p.m.

Wed., Jan. 16 Fresno State* Laramie, Wyo. 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 19 @San Diego State* San Diego, Calif. 3:00 p.m.

Wed., Jan. 23 UNLV* Laramie, Wyo. 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 26 @Air Force* Colorado Springs, Colo. 2:00 p.m.

Wed., Jan. 30 @New Mexico* Albuquerque, N.M. TBA

Sat., Feb. 2 Colorado State* Laramie, Wyo. 2:00 p.m.

Sat., Feb. 9 Boise State* Laramie, Wyo. 2:00 p.m.

Wed., Feb. 13 @Nevada* Reno, Nev. TBA

Sat., Feb. 16 @Fresno State* Fresno, Calif. TBA

Wed., Feb. 20 San Diego State* Laramie, Wyo. 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Feb. 23 @UNLV* Las Vegas, Nev. 4:00 p.m.

Wed., Feb. 27 Air Force* Laramie, Wyo. 7:00 p.m.

Sat., March 2 New Mexico* Laramie, Wyo. 2:00 p.m.

Wed., March 6 @Colorado State* Ft. Collins, Colo. 7:00 p.m.

Tues.-Sat. , March 12-16, MW Championships Las Vegas, Nev. TBD

All games and times are subject to change

All times listed are Mountain Time

*Mountain West Conference Games

Related content:
 
Cowboys, Wyoming