Election filing period opens Wednesday

Aug 7, 2012 By Christina George, Staff Writer

The filing period opens Wednesday, Aug. 8, for positions on boards of Central Wyoming College, the eight Fremont County school districts, and fire, conservation and cemetery districts.

Individuals seeking one of the various seats appearing on the Nov. 6 general election ballot have until Aug. 27 to submit an application to the Fremont County Election Office at the courthouse in Lander.

Forms are available at the election office and on the Wyoming Secretary of State website at

Election deputy Margy Irvine said her office must receive an original application in person or by mail, and faxed copies will not be accepted. If an application is mailed, Irvine said it must be received in the office no later than Aug. 27.

There is no filing fee.

School boards

In Lander, three seats on the School District 1 board are up this election. Susan Crane, Joe Palladino and John Schumacher hold them. The three trustees were elected to their first four-year terms in 2008.

Three positions on School District 2's board in Dubois will be on the November ballot. Heidi McStay, Brad Lindsey and Peggy Miller hold the seats.

McStay and Lindsey joined the board in 2008. Miller is in her sixth year as a trustee.

School District 6 trustees Patti Griffith, Dan Pince, Charles Gomendi and Kristen Benson have terms that expire this year.

Pince is in his 14th year on the Wind River board, and Griffith is nearing two decades of service. Benson was appointed to the board earlier this year to replace Marilyn Lund, who resigned in January.

Gomendi is finishing his first term in office.

Three of the five seats on School District 14's board will appear on the ballot.

Clarinda Burson, Belle Ferris and J. Merton Trosper hold the seats.

Trosper has served on the Wyoming Indian board since 1980. Burson and Ferris were voted into office in the 2000 election.

Three seats on School District 21's board in Fort Washakie are up in this year's general election. Tex LeClair, Bonnie Washakie and Kay Ferris fill them.

Washakie is in her 12th year in office, and Ferris is finishing her first term. LeClair joined the board in early 2011 after Carla Mann resigned.

Shoshoni electors will have three positions on the School District 24 board to vote on this year. Kelly Gardner, Teffany Fegler and Tracy Spence hold those seats.

Gardner was elected to the board in 2008, and Fegler joined in 2004. Spence was appointed to a trustee spot in October because of a resignation by Greg Jarvis.

There are four positions on School District 25's board with expiring terms this year.

Riverton trustees Dean Peranteaux, Carl Manning, Glenn Ogg and Lynette Jeffres fill them.

Jeffres was appointed to the board July 17 to replace Bill Russell, who stepped down because he is relocating outside of Riverton.

Manning has been a trustee for 20 years, and Ogg and Peranteaux were elected in 2008.

School District 38 trustees Leo Hanway Sr., John Goggles and Howard Brown have terms that expire this year.

Hanway has served on the board for several years, while Goggles and Brown are in their first terms on the Arapahoe school board.


Four of the seven CWC board seats will open this election. Frank Welty III, Judy Pedersen, Caroline Mills and Colton Crane hold them.

Crane represents Sub-district 4, which incorporates Lander, Hudson, Jeffrey City and Atlantic City. The Lander man was appointed to the seat in August 2008 to replace Dallas Myers, who resigned from the board earlier that summer.

Mills represents Sub-district 3. The district covers Fort Washakie, Ethete and Arapahoe. She has been on the board since 2004.

Pederson is Sub-district 2's representative, which includes Shoshoni, Lysite and various areas north of Riverton. Welty represents Sub-district 1, which consists of Dubois, Pavillion and Crowheart.

The two were elected to the board in 2008.

Fire protection districts

Several seats on fire protection districts will appear on the November ballot.

Fremont County Fire Protection District member Glen Steers's term expires this year.

Three members of the Dubois district also have expiring terms. They are Larry Wilke of Sub-district 1, Peter Wendell of Sub-district 2 and Reg Phillips of Sub-district 4.

There are no seats that will become vacant on the Jeffrey City or Riverton fire protection districts.

Conservation districts

Two positions on the Popo Agie Conservation District's board in Lander are up this election. Gerald Caskey and Tim Wilson now hold them.

The Dubois/Crowheart Conservation District has two board seats opening. Reg Phillips and Lyle Alexander hold them.

Lower Wind River Conservation District in Riverton has two board members with expiring terms. They are Rod Rivers and Gavin Woody.

Cemetery districts

Steve Banks, Stephen Frericks and Hugh "Bob" Livingston hold Dubois cemetery district seats that are up this election.

Three spots on the Mountain View district in Riverton will open. Norman Moss, Jack Ratliff and Nancy Richardson fill those seats.

Four positions on the Shoshoni/Lysite district will appear on the ballot. Judy Hurt, Thomas Currah, Shirley Johnson and Robert Eads hold them.

Print Story
Read The Ranger...