Carissa Mine improvements startingJun 30, 2012 From staff reports
This summer will be busy at the Carissa Mine and Mill in the South Pass area with numerous activities planned for the historic site.
Beginning in July the Abandoned Mine Land Division of the Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality will supervise installation of multiple public and worker safety features into the Carissa Mine and Mill.
The division will also coordinate the installation of milling equipment purchased by the Wyoming Legislature.
The Carissa is a historic gold mine founded in 1867 and run through the mid-1950s. The Carissa Mine was purchased in 2003 and added to South Pass City State Historic Site.
As with most abandoned mine properties the site has numerous safety issues. AML has worked for several years to mitigate these issues.
This summer, installation of additional safety features designed to reduce hazards in the Carissa Mine and Mill buildings will include lighting, safety rails, and other features.
In addition, AML will be coordinating the installation of historic milling equipment.
Funded by the Wyoming Legislature and the Friends of South Pass the equipment will replace identical pieces removed from the Carissa in the late 1950s.
Once installed, the milling equipment will be functional and provide an immersive interpretive experience for the visiting public that will be unique to the Carissa and Wyoming.