Filing period ends; primary ballot set

Jun 3, 2012 By Christina George, Staff Writer

Races for all three commission openings; House contests, too

Former State Rep. Jim Allen of rural Lander is hoping to reclaim the position he held for a short time in 2004.

On Friday afternoon, Allen, a Republican, submitted his application for Wyoming House District 33.

Allen was appointed to the post in April 2004 by the Fremont County Commission following the death of state Rep. Harry Tipton, who died that March after serving more than 20 years in the House.

In that year's general election, Allen fell short to the 55 percent of votes going to Patrick Goggles, the first Northern Arapaho to be elected to the Wyoming House. Allen participated in some committee session work but didn't serve in a legislative session.

Goggles, a Democrat from Ethete, continues to hold the seat and is seeking re-election.

Also in the race is Republican candidate Daniel Cardenas of St. Stephen's, who lost narrowly to Goggles two years ago.

On Friday, the last day of the filing period, several more candidates submitted their applications for various offices appearing on the Aug. 21 primary election ballot.


Races for the three Fremont County Commission seats up this election include both incumbents and at least one challenger.

Larry Allen of Lysite is the latest to file for a position on the commission, having submitted his application for District 2. Commissioner Dennis Christensen of Riverton is seeking re-election to the seat. Others in the race are Richard Denke of Pavillion and Tim Salazar of Dubois.

All four men are Republicans.

In Lander, Debbie Scheler is challenging commission vice chairman Pat Hickerson for the District 4 seat. Both candidates are Republicans.

Commission chairman Doug Thompson of Jeffrey City is seeking re-election to the District 5 seat. Others vying for the position are fellow Republicans Red Fyler of the South Pass area and Jennifer McCarty of Lander.


On Friday, Larry Bauman filed for the Riverton City Council's Ward 3 seat, creating a race against incumbent Lars Baker.

Incumbent Todd Smith and former council members Sarah Kalbach and Lee Martinez are seeking the Ward 2 seat.

Riverton City Council member Diana Mahoney filed for re-election to the Ward 1 seat. Newcomer Jonathan Faubion also is seeking the position.

The Lander City Council Ward 2 race rested at three candidates when the filing period closed.

Newcomer Lucille Kara submitted her application for the seat Friday afternoon. Councilman Cade Maestas and former councilor Ken Stroh also filed for the position.

John Boulette, Sollie Cadman and Dan Hahn are seeking the Ward 1 seat.

Linda Barton has no challengers for her Ward 3 position.

On Friday, Charles Whaley filed for one of two seats up this election on the Dubois Town Council. Councilmen David Bennett and Rick Lee are also seeking re-election.

Mike Anderson and Sherry Oler are running for another term on the Hudson Town Council.

For more than two weeks after the filing period opened on May 17, no one filed for Pavillion Town Council. But on Friday, the candidate pool grew to four.

Candidates are M.J. Larsen and incumbents Tauna GroomSmith, Bud Kisling and Danette Williams.

There are six candidates competing for two seats that open this year on the Shoshoni Town Council. Brandy Hague, Darla Keever, Dave Wood and Gary Weisz are challenging incumbents Ken Cundall and Bill Marcus for the positions.


With longtime state Rep. Del McOmie, R-Lander, announcing earlier this spring that he would not seek another term, House District 54 has been one of the races to watch in Fremont County.

With the incumbent out, five others have filed for the position. They are Democratic candidates Bruce Palmer and Michelle Hoffman, and Republicans Andrew Gramlich, Lloyd Larsen and Eileen Oakley.

Another big race in the county is in House District 28, which until this year's legislative redistricting plan didn't include Fremont County.

Republican candidate Roland "Roll" Luehne of Thermopolis filed Thursday for House District 28, which consists of the Big Horn Basin and the Shoshoni and Lysite area in Fremont County.

Echo Renner of Meeteetse and Nathan Winters of Thermopolis, both Republicans, are also vying for the seat.

Democratic candidates in the contest are Carl Leyba and Connie Skates, both of Thermopolis.

State Rep. Rita Campbell filed for re-election to House District 34. Her opponent is Lois Herbst. Both women are Republicans who live in rural Riverton.

State Rep. David Miller, R-Riverton, is seeking another term in House District 55. Democratic candidate Sherry Shelley of Riverton is also in the race.

Two Senators remain the lone candidates in their respective races.

State Sen. Eli Bebout, R-Riverton, is seeking another four years in Senate District 26, as is state Sen. Gerald Geis, R-Worland, for Senate District 20.

Senate District 20 includes portions of the Big Horn Basin and the Shoshoni and Lysite area.


On Friday, Democratic candidates William Bryk of Burntfork, N.Y., and Tim Chesnut of Laramie submitted applications for the U.S. Senate.

U.S. Sen. John Barrasso, R-Wyo., is seeking re-election to the seat he's held since 2007.

Others in the race are Republicans Thomas Bleming of Lusk and Emmett Mavy of Alpine, and Democratic candidate Al Hamburg of Torrington.

U.S. Rep. Cynthia Lummis, R-Wyo., will have one opponent going into the primary election. Chris Henrichsen, a Democrat from Casper, filed for the position on May 24.

Print Story
Read The Ranger...