Dear Readers,
Beginning Wed., Oct. 25, The Ranger will reinstate our subscription program for our digital-only customers. (The online Ranger will continue to be provided free as an added service to all Ranger print subscribers). We hope you will continue to enjoy Fremont County's best journalism in print and also online, all day, every day!

Students receive Chief Washakie scholarships

Apr 20, 2012 By Christina George, Staff Writer

Chief Washakie scholarships recently were awarded to nine University of Wyoming students for the coming academic year.

They will be recognized at the American Indian Studies Honoring of Graduates ceremony at 6 p.m. Friday, May 4, in the Garden Ballroom of the UW Conference Center, located at 22nd Street and Grand Avenue in the Hilton Garden Inn.

New recipients are Kristie Asay, a junior in psychology from Riverton; Winslow Friday, civil engineering junior, Lander; and Cody Jennings, a graduate student in the master's of planning program from Laramie.

Current recipients of the Chief Washakie Scholarship who will continue to receive support for the coming year are Melvin Arthur, a graduate student in kinesiology and health from Ethete; Vittrio Capitan, art (graphic design), junior, Fort Washakie; Nan Craft, organizational leadership, junior, St. Stephens; Elizabeth Jude Friday, adult education, graduate student, Lander; Caleb Her Many Horses, mathematics/science, junior, Lander; and Coburn NoEar, a senior in fish and wildlife management from Fort Washakie.

The scholarship program was created in 2003 when the Chief Washakie Foundation gave $200,000 to UW. Funds were collected to create Chief Washakie statues in the United States and Wyoming capitol buildings and the joint tribal headquarters in Fort Washakie. The gift was matched by the state, creating a $400,000 endowment which annually produces income for the scholarships.

The Chief Washakie Memorial Endowment at UW was established to help students and educators -- with significant ties to the Wind River Reservation community -- gain formal knowledge, skills and abilities.

"The spirit of the award assumes that the recipients have, as part of their ultimate goals, some direct participation, appropriate to their educational background, in activities that will further the common good of the people of the reservation," says John Nutter from the UW Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs.

The selection committee is composed of representatives of the Wind River Reservation community and UW. Members are James Trosper, Chief Washakie Foundation chairman and UW Board of Trustees member; Mark Harris, co-chairman of the Chief Washakie Foundation, Zedora Enos, great-granddaughter of Chief Washakie; May Raynolds, Lander resident and member of the Chief Washakie statue committee; Debra Reed, UW student financial aid scholarships associate director; Angela Jaime, UW College of Education associate professor; and Tammy Mack, UW student financial aid scholarships assistant director.

Print Story
Read The Ranger...